First Lady: Surgery, Finals, and a trip to Washington, D.C.

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” — Eleanor Roosevelt

IMG_9560
Me, at the National Museum of American History.

I’ve been on a blogging hiatus, mostly because of a sinus surgery I had done, and finals taking over my life for two weeks.  The former I spent on the couch, popping pain pills and watching One Direction videos on YouTube.  The latter found me hunched over my coffee table, an espresso from Starbucks in hand, surrounded by sheets of papers strewn around textbooks.  I’m proud to say that I’ve gotten through both, successfully, and now have a minute to sit down and do what I love most — write.

In the midst of the surgery and finals, I also had the great honor of visiting Washington, D.C.  It was my second time in the Capital City, and my first touring the White House.  I was very excited, because not many can boast that they were ACTUALLY INSIDE OF THE WHITE HOUSE.  This trip was a much needed two-day getaway for me, my best friend Katie, and her mom (and also my dear, dear friend) Brenda.

We arrived in DC Thursday evening.  After stressing over the traffic in a big city, and finally finding a parking spot, we had dinner at Nando’s.  Nando’s was introduced to us through One Direction and 5 Seconds of Summer.  I can describe the establishment in one sentence: They have amazing chicken.  So Katie and I dragged Brenda with us to be the ridiculous fan girls we are, ordering the same food Harry Styles allegedly orders when he dines at the chain restaurant. 

The next day we toured the White House, which was such an honor.  We walked through the Red Room, the Green Room, and the Dining Room, all of which had the original furniture that was delicately chosen many years ago by the First Ladies of America.  It blew my mind to think that these women, now historical figures, were once as real as you and I.  They must have had dreams and plans, fears and hopes.  What did they think about before going to bed? One would assume it was global issues that kept them up at night.  But maybe we are wrong.  Maybe these prominent women of America were just like any other wife, concerned over arguments they had that day with their husbands over mundane things such as dirty socks and uncooked dinner.  At the National Museum of American History, we were able to view the gowns worn by the First Women at their husband’s inaugural balls.  Looking at those dresses, I wondered what joy these ladies must have felt wearing beautiful dresses alongside their President husbands.  I guess I’ll never know what Jacqueline Kennedy, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Mary Lincoln were truly like, but I do know that these women are a symbol of the strong American woman who carries the burdens of life with grace and virtue.

As I walked through the busy and colorful streets of Washington D.C., I kept thinking back to the First Ladies of America, and what it means to be a successful woman.  To some, success is as simple as a family and a home with a white-picket fence.  I would have to agree that, yes, this is a big part of success.  To me, however, it is not all of it.  Success, in my point of view, is to do all of the things that you dream of doing.  Success is to topple down walls and break barriers to achieve the accomplishments that often seem to incredulous to be possible.  Success, to me, is to be remembered in four hundred years not only for the dress that I wore, but for the efforts I put in to make the world a better place.

The First Ladies of America were successful.  Some more than others, but all successful nonetheless.

I hope to take the lessons these women left behind, and use them to weave success into my life because, at the end of it all, you don’t have to be a First Lady to be successful.  We are all capable of greatness.
With all my love,

2032765680083201260814

Leave a Reply

