When you are sick, you are a child.

When I first moved away from my Mom, it was a very hard transition for me.  I would call her every single day, crying, telling her that I just wanted to come home.  A few times, her motherly heart breaking from my constant tears, she would actually tell me, “Why don’t you, Indira?”  Well, I toughed it out, and instead spent my three month summer vacation with my mom.  It was, as you can imagine, absolutely amazing.  We would go out together, and watch TV shows together, and I would randomly show up at her work and spend hours with her so she wouldn’t be lonely.  I’ve never been one of those kids that would constantly fight with their mom because she “didn’t understand me”.  Sure, my mom is usually brutally honest with me, and it’s most of the time her way or the highway, but I’m proud to say that I absolutely adore my mother.  So yes, it was hard for me to move away from her to go to college in the United States.

After my three month vacation in Russia, I have found it to be easier to cope with my Mom being so far away from me.  I still miss her, but I’ve also accepted it as a healthy part of any 19 year old’s life.  All of us eventually move away from our mothers so we could go conquer our dreams and make them proud.   I’m okay with that now…except until days like this come along.

I woke up yesterday with a sore throat, which in the night turned into a full-blown cold.  I had the aches and chills, a sinus headache, coughs, a runny nose…the whole ordeal.  I got about 2 hours of sleep (if even that), before eventually crawling out of bed to watch One Direction perform on the Today Show. The worst part was that I have sinus surgery scheduled for this Friday, and the doctor told me absolutely no medicine for two weeks prior.  So the only thing I could do was drink hot tea and whine about the pain.

I was laying in bed in the wee hours of the morning, thinking that if only Mom was here with me, she would make everything better.  She would know exactly what to do to heal me without any medicine, whether it be by sneaking goat fat into my tea (true story) or steaming my legs in hot water… She would know.  She could make it better.  Gone was all of the of thick skin I had acquired in the last year, and I once again missed my mom with my whole entire heart.  I missed her very much.

After finally being cleared by my doctor to take a little bit of Tylenol, I feel better.  But I also know that no matter how old I get, or how tough I get, I will always miss my mom.  When you are sick, and you are helpless, the only one that truly cares is your mom.  Always.

I hope you skip out on the cold this season.  Stay safe, healthy, and warm.

With all my love,

2032765680083201260814

Leave a Reply

